#pondlife About

Tiny home

July 7, 2025

Tiny boxy home surrounded by wildflowers with trees behind it

When I first decided to move off-grid, I knew I wanted to build my own home. There’s something so satisfying about creating a space with your own hands, and I wanted my house to be a true reflection of my commitment to simplicity and sustainability. So, armed with some basic carpentry skills and a lot of determination, I set out to build my tiny house.

The first step was finding the perfect spot. I chose a quiet clearing near the shore of a pond, surrounded by trees and with a stunning view of the water. It felt like the perfect place to start this new chapter of my life. Once I had the location, it was time to gather materials. I wanted to use as many natural and reclaimed materials as possible, so I spent weeks scavenging for wood, stone, and other supplies.

Building the house was a true labor of love. I started with a simple foundation and built the frame from there. Each day brought new challenges, from dealing with unpredictable weather to learning new techniques on the fly. But with each beam I placed and each nail I hammered, I felt a growing sense of accomplishment and pride. The house slowly took shape, and it was amazing to see my vision come to life.